Food > Pictures of Food

It’s been a while. Didn’t really keep my once a week promise last week. Well I guess I’ve been busy. This past weekend I went to my BFFL’s bridal shower. She and I have been best friends since 6th grade and even though college tore us apart from each other (*sob*), we’re still able to get together several times a year and pick up where we left off. I love her and can’t believe I’m at the age where all my friends are getting married. I’m definitely going to cry at her wedding.

Image

This was us the year I got my first ever digital camera for Christmas (an entire decade ago…wow)

Image

Probably one of the least embarrassing photos of the both of us from that time. 🙂

Alright enough nostalgia. This week is my last week of training before running my first 5k ever. So pumped. Tonight I ran 3.18 miles (5k) in 30:17. Never thought that would ever happen. I was never much of a runner until one day about 6 months ago, I just decided to be one. Now I would like to say I’ve photographed my progress, but I find that the hardest thing to photograph is myself. So I haven’t. At least not anything worthy of putting up here. I have, however, gotten some pictures of food that I have been eating…which goes hand-in-hand with training for a 5k. Also…I just really like to cook and bake, so this is pretty much what I do outside or work, and working out, and watching TV with Bryan.

Image
Banana, Nutella and a whole wheat sandwich thin. One of my favorite breakfasts. 🙂
The white balance is terrible, but i don’t really get a lot of sunlight during breakfast…
Image
This pizza recipe is TO DIE FOR. It’s a garlic, chicken, and white sauce pizza. I like to cook and shred a bunch of chicken at once and use it during the week. The sauce on this is really quick to whip up and then I just throw these babies in the toaster. Also these whole wheat sandwich thins are one of my favorite things to keep on hand – so many things you can put on them to make a meal.
Image
These ones I had to try out on a crowd. There is no easy way to make pancakes for one. That would be called pancake. So i made these strawberry protein pancakes for my mom and sister during our girls’ weekend. The sauce is just pureed strawberries and vanilla greek yogurt (another fave). There’s very little oil in the pancakes and it called for whole wheat flour – super healthy! Also…the leftover sauce made a delicious salad dressing for a strawberry feta salad that I had for lunch this week. 🙂

(Note: I’m not sure who really cares this much about what I’ve been eating to still be reading this but I’m moving on anyway)
Image
This is the banana peanut butter smoothie I had for dinner tonight. (415 calories, 26g of protein – don’t worry, I’m not starving myself). It was super delicious too!
Image
I had this one for dinner on Tuessday night. Chocolate Banana smoothie. Also delicious and quite filling.
Image
These were an experiment (for which I followed a recipe). Butter-less chocolate chip cookies. Made them last night. They are tasty, however the texture is so far off from what unhealthy cookies are that it just doesn’t give me the same warm fuzzy feeling when I dip it in some milk and pop that bad boy in my mouth. In fact, these taste a lot like the muffins in my last post (strange because there’s no peanut butter, or bananas in these cookies). But, I did just enjoy a couple of these while writing this. So all in all I’d say it was a fair trade of tastiness for healthyness. (definitely not a word).

 

 

Leave a Reply

