Flourless Chocolate Protein Pancakes

I think these were the first pancakes I made without ANY flour in them. I’ve made some with as little as a few tablespoons in the entire mix, but this had none whatsoever. It used oats and protein powder instead.

I’m actually going to spell out the recipe because I changed it a bit. It was adapted from here

Flourless Chocolate Protein Pancakes

Flourless Chocolate Protein Pancakes

Flourless Chocolate Protein Pancakes

Flourless Chocolate Protein Pancakes

Serves: 2-3
Serving Size: About 3 Pancakes (4″ diameter)

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened coconut milk (I’m sure any kind of milk would work)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/4 cup of chocolate chips (or however many you want)

For the Sauce:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 cup Plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk (again, any milk would work probably)

Mix everything in a blender (except chocolate chips, stir those in later) and cook pancakes on the skillet as you normally would. For the sauce, you can also mix everything in a blender.

I skipped adding the chocolate chips in the batter because I always forget that critical step, but I sprinkled them on top of my pancakes instead. The nutrition facts for the sauce might be inaccurate. I said it serves 3 and probably used about 1/4 cup for one serving of pancakes, but as I put the leftovers away I knocked it onto the floor and so I couldn’t really measure what was left to check my guestimations.

This recipe was very heavy on the banana flavor. The original had strawberries in the sauce instead of bananas which I think I would prefer since there are already bananas in the batter (and I put sliced bananas on top. Who’s genius idea was that?). So next time, I will use strawberries…spring is coming soon and they will always be in my fridge!

One more note: I think these would taste even more amazing with a tablespoon of peanut butter added to the batter. And it would help thicken it…it’s a very thin batter which makes them hard to flip. But they were yummy, have no flour in them, and are chock-full of protein!

Pancakes: Nutrition Facts: (when calculated for 2 servings) Calories: 329, Fat: 12g Carbs: 30g, Protein: 21g

Sauce: Calories: 63, Fat: 1g, Carbs: 13g, Protein: 3g

Leave a Reply

